what do I have?

Buy-Sell-Trade, Wanted, Q&A, anything Conestoga!

what do I have?

Postby bwipf » 2012 Mar 27 Tue 9:23 pm

new to the forum, here's my story:

my great grandfathers old farmyard has a few buildings left on it, mostly full of old cars owned by my uncle's friend. behind one of the buildings theres a conestoga, so naturally i contacted the guy and asked what he needed for it, he said he was never going to get around to restoring it, and I could have it...for free... :) The best part is that this guy was a bodyman and all but the hood looks like its ready to be sandblasted and painted (he must have put a little time in it before putting it in the weeds)

So I think i've hit the motherlode??

I guess the first question I have is what year it is, so I decided to come here and ask how I determine that, is there a serial number database somewhere? It may be a year or two before I really start in on the restore, as I'm a farmer first, but I'm coming up with plans. If I get a chance I'll try to grab a couple pictures for you guys.. TIA
bwipf

Re: what do I have?

Postby Mike » 2012 Mar 28 Wed 6:31 am

Welcome TIA (real name ?) ~

What does the front end look like ?
Only two years were made, 54 and 55. The 54 looks a bit like the 54 cars (sedan specifically) with the peaked nose and two grill openings.
The 55 has a large single opening (I liken it to a basking shark nose) same as the 55 cars. The grill opening is ALL chrome and expensive to replate. This is why many choose to paint them body color.
The dash is simillar to the cars of the same years also.
The 54 is nice and smooth all the way across, the 55 has two large gauge openings with everything inside the two round clusters.
Everything else is pretty much the same on both cars.

Depending on the rust you find, these cars are worth the restoration in any form, stock, custom to hot rod.

Mike
Mike

Postby bwipf » 2012 Mar 28 Wed 9:31 pm